How to turn off new Gmail option that allows strangers to email you

by admin / 10 January 2014 / No Comments
share us!

Google has just unveiled a controversial new feature for Gmail and Google+ users. Anyone with a Google+ account can send an email to your Gmail account, even if they don’t have your email address. If your name is attached to a Gmail and Google+ account, then you can be contacted by total strangers, stalkers, or marketers.

You can change the settings and limit your contact options, but the “Anyone can email me” option is turned on by default. Do you want to turn it off? Here’s how:

  1. Open Gmail by going to mail.google.com
  2. Click the gear in the top right corner of the Gmail window.
  3. Select Settings from the drop-down menu.
  4. Scroll down to the Email via Google+ section, which is under the “General” tab.
  5. Click the drop-down menu and choose “Anyone on Google+”, “Extended circles”, “Circles” or “No one”.
  6. Click the”Save Changes” button at the bottom of the page.

I recommend selecting No one as that blocks the feature completely. You can select Circles if you want the people in your circles to be able to email you or Extended Circles if you want friends of friends to message you. The default option Anyone on Google+ is for those who don’t mind being contacted by any random person/mailbot.

If it were not for the fact that Gmail has the best out-of-the-box spam filters on the internet, I’d probably think long and hard about dropping my Gmail accounts for iCloud …